Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations

Suite 100-103A Packham Ave. Saskatoon, SK

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Women's Commission (SFNWC)

Saskatchewan First Nations Women's Commission

The Saskatchewan First Nations'€™ Women'€™s Commission (SFNWC) is the recognized regional voice for the advancement of First Nations'€™ women'™s and children'€™s rights in Saskatchewan. The SFNWC is committed to the development and sustenance of healthy communities by which all First Nations people benefit.

Historically, since the 1960€™s First Nations€™ women in Saskatchewan have come together to discuss a variety of issues and the poor living conditions in which they had to endure. The Saskatchewan First Nations'€™ Women'€™s Commission (SFNWC) was formed in 2000, first as a Council, and in February 2004, the Chiefs-in-Assembly voted for the FSIN Convention Act to be amended to include the SFNWC as the seventh Commission. The Saskatchewan First Nations Women's Commission Act was ratified at the June 2004 Chief's Legislative Assembly and is formal legislation of the Chiefs that validates and supports the ongoing work of First Nations women and leadership in Saskatchewan.

Honoring the Treaties is a priority for Saskatchewan First Nations' Women'€™s Commission. The mandate of the Commission is the advancement of First Nation women's rights and advocacy on strategic initiatives while respecting the Treaty and Inherent rights of all First Nations. The Women's Commission ensures the mandate is met through:

  • Representing First Nations women to ensure a strong voice is heard and presented at the Chiefs Legislative Assemblies and Chiefs Commissions;
  • Directing the Saskatchewan First Nations Women's Secretariat on research projects and strategic initiatives;
  • Holding meetings and information sessions with First Nations women and youth to hear concerns and priorities firsthand;
  • Supporting First Nations women in leadership, and working towards the advancement of leadership development and women's governance; and
  • Supporting First Nations citizens on critical issues as they arise

The SFNWC has worked diligently in these areas and will continue working with and on behalf of First Nations women, and working with the federal and provincial governments to develop partnerships. Efforts focus on creating necessary policy and legislative changes in the areas of matrimonial real property, citizenship, missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls, missing persons, violence in First Nation communities, HIV / AIDS education and awareness, and providing true gendered analysis in all policy areas. Creating positive change in these areas will improve the lvies and the health of wellbeing of all First Nations women and children in Saskatchewan. The SFNWC will also continue research regarding violence against First Nation women and children, sexual exploitation of women and children, FASD, suicide prevention, and supporting First Nation women in leadership roles.

Structure of the Saskatchewan First Nations'€™ Women'™s Commission

The SFNWC is the elected Women Chiefs in Saskatchewan:

Chief Lynn Acoose, Sakimay First Nations
Chief Margaret Bear, Ochapowace First Nation

Chief Carolyn Bernard, Waterhen Lake First Nation

Chief Connie Big Eagle, Ocean Man First Nation

Chief Tammy Cook-Searson, Lac La Ronge Indian Band

Chief Marie Anne Day Walker-Pelletier, Okanese First Nation

Chief Elsie Jack, Carry the Kettle First Nation

Chief Ellen Lecaine, Wood Mountain First Nation

Chief Eileen Morrison, Buffalo River Dene Nation

Acting Chief Anita Parenteau, Sturgeon Lake First Nation

Acting Chief Sylvia Weenie, Stony Knoll First Nation

Chief Lori Whitecalf, Sweetgrass First Nation

Non-voting members of the SFNWC include:

FSIN Vice-Chief Heather Bear

FSIN Vice-Chief Kimberly Jonathan

Tribal Vice Chair Elaine Chicoose, File Hills Qu'€™Appelle Tribal Council

Tribal Representative Corrine McNab, Touchwood Agency Tribal Council

Tribal Chief Isabel O'Soup, Yorkton Tribal Council

Senator Margaret Keewatin, Okanese First Nation

Senator Amanda Louison, Kahkewistahaw First Nation

Senator Theresa Stevenson, Cowessess First Nation


SFNWC Events

Related Items